Board of Police Commissioners

The Board of Police Commissioners is responsible for the effective operation of the Metropolitan Police Department. The Board sets policy, makes promotions, holds both closed and open meetings and coordinates with the Chief of Police in providing effective police services to the citizens of the City of St. Louis.

-Click on the pictures to view bios-

Board Meetings

The Board of Police Commissioners meets on the Third Wednesday of each month at 9:30 A.M.* on the 6th floor of the Police Headquarters Building, 1200 Clark Avenue.

Minutes/ Agendas

Current Board Minutes

Current Board Agenda

col. gray
Col. Richard Gray
col. battle-turner
Col. Bettye Battle-Turner Treasurer
col. irwin
Col. Thomas Irwin
Vice President
mayor slay
Mayor Francis G. Slay
Ex-Officio Member
col. irwin
Col. Erwin O. Switzer
Purchasing Member
Dear Citizens,

We believe it’s important for the community to understand the role of the appointed citizen Board of Police Commissioners and our commitment to an open and transparent relationship with the community. 

The primary function of the Board is to oversee the activities of the Metropolitan Police Department and ensure the community receives the most responsive and effective policing services possible.  The Board is the head of the Police Department and establishes overall policy while the Chief of Police manages the daily operations of the Department and implements the Board’s policies and goals.

We also serve as the citizens’ voice in all police affairs, and our priorities include implementing recommended reforms, improving Department services to the public, reducing crime, and initiating, implementing and supporting community policing programs. Other responsibilities include hiring, promotion, and approval of the Department's budget.  In addition, we are charged with overseeing disciplinary investigations and actions and making objective determinations on the merits of every case while respecting the rights of both officers and complainants.
The Board is comprised of five members, including four civilians who are appointed by the Governor and the Mayor of St. Louis as an ex-officio member.  The four citizen members serve four-year terms. 

The Board regularly holds open meetings the third Wednesday of each month at 9:30 A.M. at Police Headquarters, 1200 Clark Avenue.  The public is invited and encouraged to attend these meetings to learn about crime and safety in the community.
We want every resident of St. Louis to know that you have a strong community voice with this Board and you are being heard.  We encourage you to get to know each of us, as well as your local police officers and commanders.  We believe that citizens are the most effective crime-fighting tool in our community.  When citizens and police work to create strong, trusting relationships with each other, the potential of a freer, safer community is unlimited. 


Board of Police Commissioners
Metropolitan Police Department